VISUAL Centre for Contemporary Art &
The George Bernard Shaw Theatre


Deirdre O’Mahony and The PLOT 1 at VISUAL Carlow

Deirdre O’Mahony's work explores sustainable agriculture, food systems and how farmers and rural communities are navigating this terrain. Her ongoing project The Sustainment Experiments is a form of public inquiry that considers what actions can be taken concerning farming and food consumption in the context of the ecological and climate crisis. As part of Sustainment Experiments, Deirdre has been working with VISUAL over a number of years. Currently, on a piece of land on the grounds of VISUAL, Deirdre is growing sainfoin, a fodder crop that has fallen out of use in Ireland but has many wonderful benefits, including inproved animal health, promoting nitrogen fixing in soil and supporting biodiversity.

South East Venue Network Bursary 2022 awarded to Waterford dance theatre artist.

Dance theatre artist Rachel Brennan has been awarded the South East Venue Network (SEVN)’s Arts Council-funded Artist Bursary for 2022.

Cruinniú na nÓg

A day of 17 FREE creative activities for under 18’s as part of Creative Ireland Programme initiative supported by Carlow County Council Arts Service and RTÉ.

The Arts Council and Local Government host Places Matter Conference at VISUAL

The Arts Council and Local Government will jointly host its third biennial conference, Places Matter, on 24 and 25 March 2022 in VISUAL Carlow.

Our Thriving Tribe Book Launched

We are delighted to announce the launch of our newest publication Our Thriving Tribe. A collection of 22 interviews conducted with Irish Artists, Arts Workers and Practitioners exploring entrepreneurialism in the arts.

Fiona Mc Donald win ARTWORKS Prize 2021

VISUAL Carlow and Carlow Arts Festival are pleased to announce Fiona Mc Donald as the winner of the ARTWORKS Prize 2021.

Dance Artist Roisin Whelan Receives Propel Programme Award

The Strollers Network, Ireland’s largest Arts Centre network, is delighted to announce Dance Artist Roisin Whelan as the recipient of the Propel Programme Award 2021/22.